The Catholic University of America

School of Philosophy Directory

 

 Administrative Faculty

John C. McCarthy
Dean

mccartjc@cua.edu
(202) 319-5259
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
Early Modern Philosophy, Political Philosophy, Phenomenology

 

Matthias Vorwerk
Associate Dean

vorwerk@cua.edu
(202) 319-6652
Ph.D., Universität Münster
Ancient Philosophy, Plato, Plotinus, Neoplatonism

Faculty

Michele Averchi

Assistant Professor

averchi@cua.edu
(202) 319-6649
Ph.D., University of Milan
Phenomenology, Contemporary Continental Philosophy

 

Antón Barba-Kay

Assistant Professor

barbakay@cua.edu
(202) 319-6649
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Hegel, 19th Century Continental Philosophy

 

James Brent, O.P.

Assistant Professor

brent@cua.edu
(202) 319-5890
Ph.D., Saint Louis University
Aquinas, Theory of Knowledge, Philosophy of Religion 

 

Jean DeGroot
Associate Professor

degroot@cua.edu
(202) 319-6647
Ph.D., Harvard University
History and Philosophy of Science, Aristotle, and Ancient Philosophy

 

Ignacio De Ribera-Martín, D.C.J.M.
Assistant Professor

deriberamartin@cua.edu
(202) 319-5980
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
Aristotle, Philosophy of Nature, Metaphysics

 

Gregory T. Doolan
Associate Professor

doolan@cua.edu
(202) 319-6650
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
Metaphysics, Aquinas, Medieval Philosophy

 

Thérèse-Anne Druart 
Professor

druart@cua.edu
(202) 319-6653
Ph.D., Université de Louvain
Medieval Arabic Philosophy, Plato, Metaphysics

 

Michael Gorman
Associate Professor

gorman@cua.edu
(202) 319-6642
Ph.D., SUNY Buffalo; Ph.D., Boston College
Analytic Philosophy, Medieval Philosophy, Metaphysics, Mind

 

Herbert Hartmann
Clinical Assistant Professor

hartmann@cua.edu
(202) 319-6651
Ph.D., University of Toronto
Aquinas, Philosophy of Human Nature, Ethics

 

Richard F. Hassing
Associate Professor

hassing@cua.edu
(202) 319-6657
Ph.D., Cornell University
History and Philosophy of Science, Aristotle, Early Modern Philosophy 

 

Tobias Hoffmann
Associate Professor

hoffmann@cua.edu
(202) 319-6643
Ph.D., Université de Fribourg
Medieval philosophy, Aquinas, Scotus 

 

Cristina Ionescu
Assistant Professor

ionescu@cua.edu
(202) 319-6641
Ph.D., University of Guelph
Plato, Ancient Greek Philosophy

 

Angela McKay Knobel
Associate Professor

knobel@cua.edu
(202) 319-6692
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Virtue Ethics, Aquinas

 

V. Bradley Lewis
Associate Professor

lewisb@cua.edu
(202) 319-6654
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Political Philosophy     

 

Melissa Moschella
Assistant Professor

moschella@cua.edu
(202) 319-6645
Ph.D., Princeton University
Political Philosophy, Ethics    

 

Virgil P. Nemoianu
William J. Byron Distinguished

Professor of Literature and Ordinary Professor of Philosophy

nemoianv@cua.edu
(202) 319-5488
Ph.D., University of California at San Diego
Aesthetics, Philosophy of Culture

 

Timothy Noone
Professor


noonet@cua.edu
(202) 319-6646
Ph.D., University of Toronto
Medieval Philosophy, Franciscan Tradition 

 

John Rist
Father Kurt Pritzl, O.P., Chair in Philosophy

johnmrist@yahoo.co.uk
202-319-6645
M.A. in Classics, University of Cambridge, 1963
Ancient Philosophy, Neoplatonism, Patristics, Ethics

 

Michael Rohlf
Associate Professor

rohlf@cua.edu
(202) 319-6655
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Kant, Modern Philosophy

 

Msgr. Robert Sokolowski
The Elizabeth Breckenridge Caldwell Professor of Philosophy

sokolowski@cua.edu
(202) 319-6644
Ph.D., Université de Louvain
Phenomenology, Husserl, Aristotle

  

Kevin White
Associate Professor

whitek@cua.edu
(202) 319-6658
Ph.D., University of Ottawa
Medieval Philosophy, Aquinas, Philosophy of Human Nature  

 

Jeffrey Dirk Wilson
Clinical Assistant Professor

wilsonjd@cua.edu
(202) 319-5910
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
Ancient Philosophy, Metaphysics 

 

Msgr. John F. Wippel
The Theodore Basselin Professor of Philosophy

wippel@cua.edu
(202) 319-6648
Ph.D., Université de Louvain
Metaphysics, History of Medieval Philosophy, Aquinas  


Emeritus Faculty 

Jude P. Dougherty
Dean Emeritus, 
Editor of The Review of Metaphysics

dougherj@cua.edu
(202) 319-5589
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Law, American Philosophy 

 

Rev. George McLean, O.M.I.
Professor Emeritus

mclean@cua.edu
(202) 319-6089
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
Director, The Council for Research in Values and Philosophy 

 

Rev. William A. Wallace, O.P.
Professor Emeritus

Ph.D., S.T.D., Université de Fribourg
History and Philosophy of Science, Aristotle, Aquinas, Galileo 


Associates of the Faculty 

Sr. Marian Brady, S.P.
Adjunct Assistant Professor

brady@cua.edu
(202) 319-6651
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
Biomedical Ethics 

 

Gregory Canning

canning@cua.edu
(202) 319-5636
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
Nietzsche, 19th Century German Philosophy, Philosophy of Science

 

Mary Ann Cashman-McGuire

cashmanmcgui@cua.edu
(202) 319-5259 
Ed.D., The Catholic University of America
Speech, Drama

 

John Goodreau

goodreau@cua.edu
(202) 319-5636
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
Kant, Early Modern Philosophy

 

Charles C. McCarthy

mcarthc@cua.edu
(301) 840-1407
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
Ethics, Philosophy of Human Nature 

 

Alfred Miller

(202) 319-5259
M.D., Harvard Medical School; Ph.D., University of Hamburg
Aristotle, Philosophy of Physics   

 

Maria Miller

(202) 319-5259
Ph.D., Biology  


 

Gregory Reichberg

greg@prio.no
(202) 319-5259
Ph.D., Emory University
Neo-Thomist Philosophy, Peace Studies

 

Elizabeth Shaw

shaw@cua.edu
(202) 319-5636
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
American Philosophy

 

Rev. David Thayer, S.S.

thayer@cua.edu
(202) 319-5259
Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University
Philosophy of Knowledge, Philosophy of Social Science  

 

Msgr. James Watkins

(202) 319-5259
Ph.D., Pontifical University of St. Thomas Aquinas (Angelicum)
Philosophy of God