The Catholic University of America

School of Philosophy Directory

 

 Administrative Faculty

John C. McCarthy
Dean

mccartjc@cua.edu
(202) 319-5259
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
Early Modern Philosophy, Political Philosophy, Phenomenology

 

Matthias Vorwerk
Associate Dean

vorwerk@cua.edu
(202) 319-6652
Ph.D., Universität Münster
Ancient Philosophy, Plato, Plotinus, Neoplatonism

Faculty

Michele Averchi

Assistant Professor

averchi@cua.edu
(202) 319-6649
Ph.D., University of Milan
Phenomenology, Contemporary Continental Philosophy

 

Antón Barba-Kay

Assistant Professor

barbakay@cua.edu
(202) 319-6649
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Hegel, 19th Century Continental Philosophy

 

Jonathan Buttaci
Assistant Professor

buttaci@cua.edu
(202) 319-5589
Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
Ancient Philosophy, Epistemology

 

Jean De Groot
Ordinary Professor

degroot@cua.edu
(202) 319-6647
Ph.D., Harvard University
History and Philosophy of Science, Aristotle, and Ancient Philosophy

 

Assistant Professor; Faculty Advisor for Pre-Theology Students
 

deriberamartin@cua.edu
(202) 319-5980
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
Aristotle, Philosophy of Nature and Life, Metaphysics

 

Gregory T. Doolan
Associate Professor

doolan@cua.edu
(202) 319-6650
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
Metaphysics, Aquinas, Medieval Philosophy

 

Thérèse-Anne Druart 
Ordinary Professor

druart@cua.edu
(202) 319-6653
Ph.D., Université de Louvain
Medieval Arabic Philosophy, Plato, Metaphysics

 

Michael Gorman
Associate Professor

gorman@cua.edu
(202) 319-6642
Ph.D., SUNY Buffalo; Ph.D., Boston College
Analytic Philosophy, Medieval Philosophy, Metaphysics, Mind

 

Herbert Hartmann
Clinical Assistant Professor; Director of the First-Year Experience Program

hartmann@cua.edu
(202) 319-6140
Ph.D., University of Toronto
Aquinas, Philosophy of Human Nature, Ethics

 

Richard F. Hassing
Research Associate Professor

hassing@cua.edu
(202) 319-6657
Ph.D., Cornell University
History and Philosophy of Science, Aristotle, Early Modern Philosophy 

 

Tobias Hoffmann
Associate Professor

hoffmann@cua.edu
(202) 319-6643
Ph.D., Université de Fribourg
Medieval philosophy, Aquinas, Scotus 

 

Cristina Ionescu
Associate Professor

ionescu@cua.edu
(202) 319-6641
Ph.D., University of Guelph
Plato, Ancient Greek Philosophy

 

Angela McKay Knobel
Associate Professor

knobel@cua.edu
(202) 319-6692
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Virtue Ethics, Aquinas

 

V. Bradley Lewis
Associate Professor

lewisb@cua.edu
(202) 319-6654
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Political Philosophy     

 

Melissa Moschella
Assistant Professor

moschella@cua.edu
(202) 319-6645
Ph.D., Princeton University
Political Philosophy, Ethics    

 

Timothy Noone
Ordinary Professor, Father Kurt Pritzl, O.P., Chair in Philosophy


noonet@cua.edu
(202) 319-6646
Ph.D., University of Toronto
Medieval Philosophy, Franciscan Tradition 

  

Michael Rohlf
Associate Professor

rohlf@cua.edu
(202) 319-6655
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Kant, Modern Philosophy

 

Msgr. Robert Sokolowski
Ordinary Professor, The Elizabeth Breckenridge Caldwell Professor of Philosophy

sokolowski@cua.edu
(202) 319-6644
Ph.D., Université de Louvain
Phenomenology, Husserl, Aristotle

  

Kevin White
Associate Professor

whitek@cua.edu
(202) 319-6658
Ph.D., University of Ottawa
Medieval Philosophy, Aquinas, Philosophy of Human Nature  

 

Jeffrey Dirk Wilson
Clinical Associate Professor

wilsonjd@cua.edu
(202) 319-5910
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
Ancient Philosophy, Metaphysics, Political Philosophy 

 

Msgr. John F. Wippel
Ordinary Professor, The Theodore Basselin Professor of Philosophy

wippel@cua.edu
(202) 319-6648
Ph.D., Université de Louvain
Metaphysics, History of Medieval Philosophy, Aquinas  


Emeritus Faculty 

Jude P. Dougherty
Dean Emeritus


Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Law, American Philosophy 

 

Virgil P. Nemoianu
Professor Emeritus

nemoianv@cua.edu
(202) 319-5488
Ph.D., University of California at San Diego
Aesthetics, Philosophy of Culture

 


Associates of the Faculty 

Mary Ann Cashman-McGuire

Lecturer

cashmanmcgui@cua.edu
Ed.D., The Catholic University of America
Speech, Drama

 

John Goodreau
Lecturer

goodreau@cua.edu
(202) 319-5636
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
Kant, Early Modern Philosophy

  

Lecturer

krause@cua.edu
(202) 319-5259 
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America 

 

John Rist
Research Professor 

johnmrist@yahoo.co.uk
M.A. in Classics, University of Cambridge, 1963
Ancient Philosophy, Neoplatonism, Patristics, Ethics

 

Lecturer
 

shaw@cua.edu
(202) 635-8778
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America
American Philosophy

 

Rev. David Thayer, S.S.
Lecturer
 

thayer@cua.edu
Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University
Philosophy of Knowledge, Philosophy of Social Science  

 

 

Msgr. James Watkins
Lecturer
 
watkinsjas@aol.com
Ph.D., Pontifical University of St. Thomas Aquinas (Angelicum)
Philosophy of God